Board of Trustees

Under New Jersey law, the authority to manage the public library rests in the hands of a board of trustees. The Board appoints staff, manages money, and sets policy. The Library is incorporated separately from the Borough and, as such, it is an autonomous governmental body. Thus, the Library Board has complete authority to set policy and manage its funding.

Please see Library Bylaws and Manual of Short Policy Statementfor further information.


There are nine trustees on the Library Board in Roselle:

  • JoAnn R. Guest, President
  • Maureen Boyle, Vice President
  • R. Eudora Winston, Treasurer
  • Adrienne Williams, Assistant Treasurer
  • Elaine M. Rittinger, Secretary
  • Kathy Lloyd
  • Janet DeMicco
  • June Simmons
  • Chrystal V. Parr-Allen


Buildings and Grounds : reviews the property, inside and out, and recommends repairs and improvements.

Personnel: oversees all contract negotiations (union and non-union) and manages all union-related issues.

Nominating: prepares an annual slate of officers, and makes recommendations to fill vacancies among the officers when they occur.

Planning: takes a long range look at the library for services, staffing.

Meetings and Minutes

Meetings are open to the public and are held at 6PM on the fourth Thursday of the month, unless noted otherwise.



The bylaws of the Free Public Library of Roselle were adopted on February 5, 1918 and have been amended periodically.

btn-elibrary btn-lmxpress btn smartpay btn zinio